Ideal vs Maintainable

I’ve actually talked with several different people on different occasions this week about the issue of weight.  Even on the Biggest Looser we see Dan had his goal weight written down on his arm-the weight he shoots for when he steps on the scale.  I know that there are a lot of people right now using the term “beach body” or “bikini body”  especially as Spring comes to a close and the summer season is around the corner.

I want to talk about two very different terms when it comes to weight.  You have your ideal weight-the weight you always dreamed about and you have your maintainable weight.  VERY different numbers.

I’m 5’5 and would LOVE to be 125 pounds and thats even middle ‘ideal’ weight according to some sites!  But the reality is that I’m not going to strive for that weight.  The reason, because I want to be HAPPY.  Why wouldn’t I be happy if I was at my IDEAL weight.  The reason is that its not something that I could maintain.  I am working out 6 days a week and doing the best I can to watch my food intake and I at this very point in time with 2 kids and running 2 businesses-I’m not able to up my pace.

When setting your maintainable weight, you need to really ask yourself if once you reach it, can you maintain the same exercise and diet pace for the rest of your life?

I’m all for challenging yourself and pushing your limits but there is a difference between achievable, maintainable realistic goals and dream goals.  I know, I know, this sounds completely different from what you hear-and let me tell you, DO NOT finish this and say, well Lorri says that I shouldn’t push harder or work harder.  As in the words of Jon Bon Jovi:

Don’t get too comfortable with who you are at any given time – you may miss the opportunity to become who you want to be.

BUT the last thing we want to do is set goals that right from the start will destroy us mind body and soul.  Hence the reason I am running a half marathon-I’m pushing myself out of my comfort zone, but NOT trying to be iron-woman or even a marathon right off the batt because I would set myself up for failure because I would have to pull from my time as mom or wife or business owner and then I wouldn’t be happy inside…

Posted on May 21, 2011, in Exercise, Life Lessons, Weight loss. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

